Hangout Moderator

Description: The ALA Hangouts Chat is an informal, virtual discussion with no fixed agenda, covering any timely topic participants identify to address. Like the Online Community, the content is not provided by ALA but is an opportunity for 25-60 participating individuals—almost all of whom are ALA members— to connect around specific areas of interest and share ideas, resources and solutions. The Hangouts chat moderator will actively facilitate the virtual weekly one-hour discussion which is conducted on the Zoom platform.  The moderator’s primary responsibility is to keep the conversation going, followed by maintaining awareness of those who desire/attempt to speak and ensure they have an opportunity to do so. We also ask the moderator to be aware of the time and let participants know when 5-10 minutes remain.

Topic suggestions are gathered at participant registration, and these are passed on to the moderator on the day of the chat, along with a list of current registrants. Staff may supplement the topic list with suggested ideas, and it is very helpful when the moderator prepares a list of current topics to support conversation flow. ALA staff are on the call and can be reached by private chat if any questions arise during the call.

The weekly moderator will be recognized in registration material and scheduling information, as available. 

Expectations: The time commitment for this volunteer activity is roughly 1 hour for each weekly chat on Tuesday, beginning at 2 pm ET | 1 pm CT | 12 pm MT | 11 am PT.

If scheduled and confirmed, and availability changes, at least two weeks’ notification is requested.

Moderators may volunteer for any Tuesday on which there is availability by both moderator and ALA.

Individuals interested in serving as an ambassador should contact [email protected]

No opportunity will be provided to market the moderator’s products or services, if such an interest exists.

Eligibility: Anyone with an interest in moderating may volunteer to do so. Membership is not required.

Individuals interested in serving as an ambassador should contact [email protected].