Skip to Main Content

Thank You for a Successful Annual Conference & Expo

A big thank-you to the 1,100+ attendees and more than 150 exhibitors representing nearly 200 booths at the 2017 Annual Conference & Expo in Denver, Colorado. We hope you walked away with plenty of inspiration, new connections and cutting-edge solutions that you can put into practice right now at your law office.

Were you unable to attend this year’s conference, or are you looking to relive some of the fun? Check out a day-by-day recap of the conference as told by attendees’ tweets: SundayMondayTuesday and Wednesday. (No login required.)


AC17 Homepage Elevate Banner


2017-18 Board of Directors

During Tuesday’s Association Lunch, ALA President Gary Swisher II, CLM, and the 2017-18 ALA Board of Directors took office. Click here to see your new Board of Directors.


A Thank You from the Conference Chair

Dear Colleagues and Friends,

I would like to thank all the people who worked together to make this year’s conference a success.

  • The 2017 Annual Conference Committee
  • ALA Staff
  • Our Business Partners
  • Our VIP Partners
  • Session Managers
  • Volunteers
  • Speakers
  • Conference Attendees
  • All the behind-the-scenes support team it took to make this event possible.

On behalf of the 2017 Annual Conference Committee, we hope that attending the dynamic educational sessions gave you a clear path to the peak of the legal management industry and that you Elevated Your Potential at this year's conference.

Thank you for the amazing experience of being the Chair of the 2017 Annual Conference Committee. This has been a fantastic journey that I will never forget.  

Shelley Strong
2017 Annual Conference & Expo Planning Committee Chair



2017 Award Recipients

ALA is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2017 Awards Program:

Outstanding Association Volunteers

William Mech of Cunningham Meyer & Vedrine, PC, in Warrenville, Illinois

Lisa Dasher, CLM, CPA, CGMA, in Coral Gables, Florida

Elevate ALA Award

Atlanta Chapter of ALA

Greater Los Angeles Chapter of ALA

Mobile Chapter of ALA

Founders Award

Don Akins, Past ALA President (Akins passed in June of last year. His wife Barbara and daughters received the award on his behalf.)

Quest Award

Sonji Le Blanc of DLA Piper in Phoenix, Arizona

IDEA Awards

Chuhak & Tecson, PC

New Jersey Chapter of ALA

Philadelphia Chapter of ALA


Evaluation Raffle Winners

Congratulations to the following evaluation raffle winners! Each winner received a $25 American Express Gift Card:

Monday's winners:

  • Jean Pimental, City of Jacksonville, Office of General Counsel, Jacksonville, Florida
  • Sarah Busskohl, Franklin D. Azar & Associates, P.C., Aurora, Colorado

Tuesday's winners:

  • Ilona Reddick, Hoffman Sabban & Watenmaker, Los Angeles, California
  • Charly Doe, TraskBritt, PC, Salt Lake City, Utah

Wednesday's winners:

  • Susan Kubert, Bouneff Chally & Koh, Portland, Oregon
  • Paul Schwartz, Anderson Kill PC, New York, New York

Congratulations to the overall evaluation winner (includes Virtual Conference evaluations) and recipient of a Fitbit:

  • Elinor M. Reynolds, Clark Campbell Lancaster Munson, PA, Lakeland, Florida

Club 5280 Treasure Hunt Winners

Congratulations to the following winners of our Club 5280 Treasure Hunt! And a big thank you to our VIP Sponsors of the Club 5280 Finale!

SponsorPrize Winner
ABA Retirement FundsTara Baugh
Affinity Consulting GroupCarole Morris
Allied WorldKathy Batts
BreachProNarinda Greene
GLJ Benefit ConsultantsNancy Claypool
iSolvedTina White
LTC SolutionsMaureen Dohe
National Pension ProfessionalsBrooke Cole
National Purchasing PartnersMichele Brauch
PrincipalAnn Caudle
QuillKaren Osmolski 
TeladocPatricia Lane
VIBEMichele Tracy
ALA Grand PrizeSarah Evenson

Referral Winners

For this year's Conference, ALA implemented a referral program that incentivized attendees to refer their colleagues and ALA members who had not attended an ALA Annual Conference since 2013 to join them. Thirty-one members participated in this program, one of whom received the grand prize of $100. Thank you all for your participation!

$100 Grand Prize Winner! Sharon Owen—Orlando, FL

Jaimee M. Hall—Chesterfield, MO

Angelina M. Angelov—Santo Domingo, DR

Sandy B. Caiazzo—King of Prussia, PA

Ann R. Caudle—Richmond, VA

Darcy M. Diaz—Redwood City, CA

Catherine O. Fee—Uniondale, NY

Beth M. Fowler—Washington, DC

Shari S. Fowley—Charlottesville, VA

Carolyn M. Gordon—Des Moines, IA

Stephanie M. Higgins—Cincinnati, OH

Marsha M. Kendall—Phoenix, AZ

Kelli L. Kennedy—Fort Worth, TX

Frank R. Lambert—Bridgeport, WV

Rebecca L. Leggett—Dallas, TX

Cinthia M. LeGrand—New York, NY

Elizabeth A. Lockwood—Farmington Hills, MI

Norma I. McKechnie—Atlanta, GA

Angela M. McIlveen—Gastonia, NC

David T. Moore—Honolulu, HI

Scott R. Popp—Chicago, IL

Holly K. Pulido—Austin, TX

Linda M. Reyna—Detroit, MI

Mary Ann M. Rojas—Chicago, IL

Abby M. Rooney—Minneapolis, MN

Donna M. Saccone, New York, NY

Simone M. Salomao—Sao Paulo, Brazil

Kristy M. Sessions—Los Angeles, CA

Doug M. Striker—Denver, CO

Tammy J. Warren—Minneapolis, MN

DeAnna L. Williams—San Francisco, CA

Virtual Conference Experience 

ALA’s first full virtual conference experience comprised three Annual Conference education sessions on Wednesday, April 5. Learn more and access the recordings on-demand.


Members Get Their 60 Seconds of Fame

We asked participants to use their personality, unique ideas and creativity to produce a video testimonial telling us why they value their ALA membership or relationship — and you voted for your favorite! The 60 Seconds of Fame Video Contest winner, the Capital Chapter, was announced last week at Annual Conference. View the video here.

Thank You to Our Sponsors

Gold Sponsors:

Konica Minolta
Royal Cup






Silver Sponsors:

Adams & Martin



All-State Legal

Pacific Office



Bronze Sponsors:

Advance Talent
Big Hand HR
Black Box IP
CommonBond_logo jpg
Cushman & Wakefield
Elevate Services
EMS Software
RK 2017 circle plus text
Taylor Seating