Executive Director Search Committee

Dear ALA Colleague:

I hope you and your loved ones are staying safe and healthy during these uncertain times. In the midst of this unpredictable state we all find ourselves in, we are moving ahead with the search for ALA's next Executive Director. The process is being led by ALA's Search Committee, with assistance from Sterling Martin Associates, a national executive search firm. We are currently seeking nominations and candidate submissions for this exciting role.

While you can find the full position description posted, I thought it might help to highlight a few of the critical ways the Executive Director contributes to ALA:

  • Reports to the Board of Directors.
  • Is responsible for the strategic management, operations, and success of ALA.
  • Guides the development of the organization's next strategic plan, as well as the ongoing refinement and implementation of that plan.
  • Acts as a liaison between the Association's Board, Committees and Chapters, and ensures that headquarters staff are delivering on member needs and benefits.
  • Oversees all staffing, financial and operational matters for the Association.

Our search will be exhaustive and inclusive, with a focus on identifying the best candidates that can lead ALA today and into its future. If you or anyone in your professional network is interested in learning more about the position, please feel free to contact David Martin, CEO of Sterling Martin Associates, at [email protected].

Kind regards,

Debra L. Elsbury, CLM
ALA President-Elect, 2019–2020

On December 12, 2019, Oliver P. Yandle, JD, CAE, announced his resignation as ALA Executive Director. The ALA Board of Directors accepted Yandle's resignation effective January 31, 2020, and the search for his successor is now underway.

The Board has appointed a Search Committee to help identify the Association’s next Executive Director. The committee members are:


Debra L. Elsbury, CLM
Firm Administrator
Threlkeld Stevenson
Indianapolis, IN
James L. Cornell, III
Office Administrator - Washington, D.C. and Philadelphia
Shook Hardy & Bacon, LLP
Washington, DC

Michael T. Bumgarner, CLM, CPA, CGMA
Chief Executive Officer
Flaherty Sensabaugh Bonasso PLLC
Charleston, WV
Jessica Mazzeo
Jessica L. Mazzeo
Chief Operating Officer
Griesing Law, LLC
Philadelphia, PA

Timothy Corcoran
Timothy B. Corcoran
Corcoran Consulting Group, LLC
Lawrenceville, NJ
Lisa A. Sterritt
Seattle, WA 

This committee will conduct a search process to seek the best-qualified candidates for the Executive Director role and will present one recommended candidate to the Board for final approval. The committee will also explain why this leader best meets the criteria for this position as established by the Board.

Questions regarding the search for ALA's next Executive Director should be directed to [email protected].