ALA Logo
Welcome, Guest!   |  
ALA Tagline
IDEA Awards

As the undisputed leader of the business of law, ALA members and chapters are encouraged to strive for excellence. In order to recognize those efforts, ALA has launched the IDEA (innovation, development, engagement and advancement) Awards. ALA chapters, committees, regions, individuals, firms, business partners and organizations are eligible award recipients who will be selected based upon their development of unique and innovative programs, services and events that improve our ALA chapters and/or legal communities. ALA IDEA Awards recognize new practices that deliver great value and transformational impact through innovative achievement.

Questions can be directed to .

View 2014 IDEA Award Recipients

2015 IDEA Award Entry Sumaries

2015 IDEA Award submissions are now closed.
Presidents’ Award of Excellence

This award, named in honor of ALA’s Past Presidents, recognizes chapters for their efforts in effective chapter leadership. Members of your Regional Leadership Team and ALA Headquarters Staff () are available to assist at any time.

View the 2014 Presidents’ Award Recipients

Use these guidelines as a checklist to chart your chapter's progress beginning January 1, 2014 through February 28, 2015.

Use these guidelines as a checklist to chart your chapter's progress beginning January 1, 2015 through February 29, 2016.

Outstanding Association Volunteer

This award recognizes members who have made significant contributions to ALA. These contributions typically extend over several years' time and at more than one level of the organization. Recipients are selected by ALA's Board of Directors and recognized at the Annual Conference.

2014 Recipients

Charly Doe, CLM of TraskBritt, PC in Salt Lake City, Utah

Roselyn Hazzard of Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP in Indianapolis, Indiana

Steven Morris, CLM of Allen Matkins Leck Gamble Mallory & Natsis LLP in San Francisco, California

Carol Anne Nitsche formerly of Karr Tuttle Campbell in Seattle, Washington

Clara Onderdonk of Ernstrom & Dreste, LLP in Rochester, New York

View the complete list of Previous Recipients

Quest Award

The Quest Award recognizes a new member who is involved in a number of Association activities and demonstrates conviction, dedication and relentless pursuit of personal and professional excellence. Chapter Presidents had the opportunity to nominate one eligible member from a list provided by ALA in mid-November, 2014. Entries will be reviewed by a panel of judges and the winner will be announced at the Annual Conference in Nashville.

Questions regarding the Quest Award program can be directed to .

2014 Recipient

Doris "DJ" Geiger of Virginia State Corporation Commission in Richmond, Virginia

View the complete list of Previous Recipients

2015 Quest Award nominations are now closed.

Susan L. French, 2013 Spirit of ALA Award honoree!
The Spirit of ALA Award

Congratulations to Susan L. French, 2013 Spirit of ALA Award honoree!

Presented to those whose commitment to professionalism, dedication to the advancement of law firm administration and record of long-term service to the Association of Legal Administrators sets the standard for all who aspire to achievement, excellence and success.

While many ALA members contribute tremendous amounts of time and effort to the growth of the profession of law firm administration and the success of ALA, recipients of The Spirit of ALA Award are those individuals who have in their careers demonstrated all of the following in extraordinary, consistent and significant measure.

View the complete list of Previous Recipients

Founders Award

This award is named for and honors ALA Founders Mary Ann Altman, Bradford W. Hildebrandt and Robert I. Weil. It is presented to select individuals for their exceptional contributions to the legal management profession.

Previous Recipients

  • 2010: John J. Michalik
  • 2007: Robert S. Yegge
  • 2006: Mary Ann Altman, Bradford W. Hildebrandt, Robert I. Weil (founding recipients)
Connect with ALA: